blog her

Not too many people know this, but I’ve been blogging since 2001. I did it sporadically prior to that, but 2001 was the year I really made it an extension of myself. I went back to read a few of my entries years ago and I was pretty impressed by that young girl. I fear I am even less articulate now then when I went back and re-read those entries. Granted, I would not change what has happened between then and now because all of it has made me who I am today. There were a lot of struggles both before my official blogging years and during them. There are even gloomy days now, but definitely less of them. Or I’m just more accepting of the world around me and more grateful for every breath and connection made. I’m living instead of just moving.

I am in a good place right now.

I love that I contributing to the working class again. I love my boss. I love my co-workers. I love that I am learning about a new industry. I love that I’m learning how difficult HR work is, especially since the department is currently not as established as it has been in my previous companies. But I don’t judge. I want to grow with the company.  Grow in my roll. Develop as a professional. Learn this industry and keep learning.

But back to blogging.

I am grateful for the friendships and connections that blogging has given me. Many have come and gone, just like in real life, but there are those few that have seen me through some crazy times. Friends that married or are getting married. Guy friends that turned into lovers that turned into exes that turned back into friends.

I don’t have the magic equation. And sometimes it just works. And then there are times when you think about them and the pain still lingers and we bleed just like the rest of the world.

2 Responses to “blog her”


  1. 1 Nye February 6, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    Congrats on your new job, you’ll definitely have more freedom to travel now. 🙂

    Blogging since 2001 is a long, long time. I’ve been blogging for 4 years now and I thought that’s long.I admire those that blog everyday, to do the 365 Project would be a challenge for me, I’m not sure if I would be up to the task.

    • 2 Sao Joy February 6, 2011 at 11:42 pm

      Thanks for the congrats, Nye. It’s definitely nice to be employed again. I hope you are right about the freedom to travel. Last year, I was in CA every month except January and July. Kina’s mom teased me about adding a kinaddendum to my contract.

      Blogging is so therapeutic for me. Every year I say I’m going to be a better blogger and every year I fail epically. I think you are definitely better about being consistent than I am. I signed up for the 365 Project a few years back and failed. We need to start small – like blog every day for a month and work up from there.


Leave a Reply

