another farewell

On Friday night, I attended the Kina Grannis show in Madison, WI with some amazing friends I met this summer in Laos. I made one listen to Kina this past week and she enjoyed her so much she decided to join us. It was so lovely. I loved seeing her interact with them and it just makes my heart happy that they enjoyed her so much. And Kina thought IA was the last show she was seeing me at so she was happily surprised.

Saturday meant the end of the tour. It was bittersweet being in the audience of her Champaign, IL show since I was also at the very first show in San Francisco, CA. Being in IL meant attending my 9th show and ultimately another farewell.

The show was amazing minus the loud, obnoxious, drunk boys next to me. It took my everything to not punch him. At one point I even moved closer to the stage so I wouldn’t be tempted to since he was really obnoxious during my favorite song. Kina sang louder in order to drown them out and that made me smile, but I was really annoyed.

I love my drinks, but you don’t have to be an ass during the show. I was very disappointed that the venue didn’t kick him out or at least talk to him. We all paid for a ticket to see Kina play, not listen to some drunk boys.

The drive home last night stunk. I loved that my GPS avoided all the lame IL tolls, but I was not pleased that it took me through country and gravel roads. Thankfully all the corn has been harvested so the Children of the Corn notion got killed as quickly as it formed. Still, not amused, GPS.

Of course, it was so great to see Kina again. She makes my heart happy. Another farewell means I can’t wait to see her again.

2 Responses to “another farewell”


  1. 1 Nye November 15, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    The way you wrote this post made me think that you saw an old friend. 🙂

    I guess the road trip could be fun if you have time to stop and visit a few attractions along the way. I know it would be a great photo opportunity for me. 🙂

    • 2 Sao Joy November 16, 2010 at 4:37 pm

      I did see an old friend. It’s so beautiful that she’s living out her dreams. And yes, road trips are great and I’ve seen some beautiful photos come from you. Get out and capture the last of Fall.


Leave a Reply

