pure perfection

Sometimes perfection doesn’t have to be 100%.

What an odd statement coming from a perfectionist. But I think sometimes, just giving 100% is enough. At least for me, and especially if your name is Kina Grannis.

She is setting up. Magic carpet – check. Boots off – check. Mic – check. Nod to sound guy – check. I’m up front. My favorite spot when I’m attending a Kina Grannis show. And then she finally looks up and catches a glimpse of me. I’m  smiling from ear to ear and I give her my quirky signature wave.  The one where I am trying to hide it from everyone else but her. She gets a little excited and smiles and I know that the rest of the show is going to be amazing.

She’s been sick. I could hear that she still hasn’t fully recovered, but she gave 100% for the tiny crowd that had formed inside a small bar in a small sleepy college town in Iowa on a  Sunday during the Fall. I have seen her a lot of times in California where the venues are large and the fans come by the car load, but there was something magically about this tiny crowd.

I’m baised. Not only do I love Kina, but I grew up in Iowa. Iowans are like the Lao in terms of hospitality and love. You could feel the love. And it was an amazing show. And everyone was blown away, just like I knew they would be.

I came close to crying once. Right before Back To Us. Oy, Kina.

She played Give Me Back and Make Me. Love. Prior to her “This is for Toby!” encore dedication when she started her tour in San Francisco, CA, Give Me Back has always been one of my favorite songs. She has since started adding it to her set list, which I love. I was hoping for an encore so I could request These Magnet Hearts but ended up listening to These Magnet Hearts during the first 2 hours of the drive home instead. Maybe she’ll play it during the rest of Midwest tour. 😉

The cutest moments came during the meet-and-greet. During one point I caught her eyes when a fan was busy buying merch for her to sign and she instantly did her cute happy dance. I did one in return and then for fear of looking stupid, I eventually stopped.

And eventually got to front of the line and to Kina where I got the best Kina hug. The best part about a small crowd at a small venue? A lot of quality face-time with Kina.

Kina in Iowa. Pure perfection.

http://www.youtube.com/kinagrannis

6 Responses to “pure perfection”


  1. 1 Nye November 11, 2010 at 12:08 am

    She does have a good voice, I’ve never seen her sing live before.

    That’s a nice picture of a classroom in Laos, by chance one of the lovely ladies is you. 🙂

    • 2 Sao Joy November 11, 2010 at 7:36 pm

      She’s even better LIVE. She’ll be doing another East Coast tour next year so keep an eye out for that. You won’t regret it and you would take such amazing photos. I drove 6 hours RT.

      The photo does correlate with the entry. One of them is actually holding up a Kina sampler CD I gave them. That day’s lesson was When I Grow Up. I didn’t have any students that wanted to go into the entertainment industry, but I told them all to dream really big. I am not in the picture since I was taking it.

      • 3 Nye November 11, 2010 at 9:32 pm

        You’ve to be a huge fan to drive 6 hours to see her. 🙂

      • 4 Sao Joy November 15, 2010 at 12:25 am

        Very big fan. I just got back from seeing her in Madison, WI on Friday and Champaign, IL on Saturday. I started her tour with her in May in San Francisco, CA so I had to end it with her on Saturday. I’ll give you a link to a site for a few of her old songs and if you want I can send you a sampler CD with a few songs too. http://kinamp3s.com/

  2. 5 Nye November 15, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    Sao Joy, thanks for the link, I downloaded her free songs. I should buy her songs to support her. 🙂

    • 6 Sao Joy November 16, 2010 at 4:35 pm

      Nye, You won’t regret buying her new album. It’s so incredibly lovely. Let me know what you think, if you do. Otherwise, I can always get you a signed physical copy when I see her again.


Leave a Reply

