food and drink

 

Food and drink is a very important part of Lao culture. Refusing either is insulting. Now you know why my trip consisted of  a lot of eating and  a lot of drinking with a lot of great company.

I like to blame my dad’s genes for making me a lover of both. I only learned about how much his family loves to party in 2007 when we were there. I mean, his side of the family in the States likes to have fun, but his side of the family in Laos is ridiculous.

Ridiculously awesome, that is.

5 Responses to “food and drink”


  1. 1 Nye November 2, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    It’s nice to see you update your blog again, I’ve been reading your blog a while back but never connected you to SJ from LV. 🙂

    • 2 Sao Joy November 2, 2010 at 10:35 pm

      You are much better about updating than me. I’ve been missing Laos a lot since my return and it’s been really cathartic to write about it.

      • 3 Nye November 7, 2010 at 10:53 pm

        You sound like one of my blogger’s friend, he has a hard time adjusting back to a normal life after his last trip to Laos also. His updating about the trip was extremely slow, I guess I didn’t understand that part since I never had any problem adjusting back. Perhaps it’s because I have my family here with me, he on the other hand is single. I guess you are also.

      • 4 Sao Joy November 10, 2010 at 7:31 pm

        My updating has been slow as molasses too. There are a lot of blog entries swirling in my head. Eventually, they’ll come out.

        I’m trying to understand where all that missing comes from too. I know my mom still misses it a lot too. She watches the videos from our first trip on a regular basis. I tend to watch my videos of the kids this summer a lot too.

        I don’t know how my single status effects my missing. I’m pretty emotional so I know I made a lot of emotional ties. My first trip was a month long with my family 24/7 and then this summer was 2.5 months long doing the same activities and seeing the same people day in and day out. Besides attending school five days a week, I also taught four mornings and then volunteered on Sundays so I made a lot of strong connections with the Lao children.

        One day, I’ll figure out this mystery.

  2. 5 Nye November 11, 2010 at 12:04 am

    I think going back to live might be in the back of your mind, apparently you’ve left your heart there. 🙂


Leave a Reply

